the National Aeronautical Establishment, Radio and Electrical Engineering, Pure and Applied Physics and Applied Biology. Regional laboratories have been established at Saskatoon, Sask., and Halifax, N.S.

A Medical Research Council fully responsible for policy in the field of medical research, but functioning under the general administration of the National Research Council, was established in November 1960.

Patentable processes and improvements developed by the Council are made available under licence to industry through a Crown company, Canadian Patents and Development Limited, and any profits from the licensing arrangements are used for further research and development.

The National Research Council reports to Parliament through the Chairman of the Committee of the Privy Council on Scientific and Industrial Research.

Northern Canada Power Commission.—The Commission was established by Act of Parliament in 1948 to provide electric power to points in the Northwest Territories where a need developed and where power could be supplied on a self-sustaining basis; the Act was amended in 1950 to give authority to the Commission to provide similar services in Yukon Territory. The name of the Commission, formerly Northwest Territories Power Commission, was changed in 1956. The Commission is composed of a chairman and two members appointed by the Governor in Council. The Commission operates four hydro-electric plants, two of which are located in the Northwest Territories on the Snare River near Yellowknife, and two in the Yukon Territory on the Yukon River at Whitehorse and on the Mayo River near Mayo, and diesel electric plants at Forth Smith, Fort Simpson, Fort Resolution, Frobisher Bay, N.W.T., and Field, B.C., and a diesel power and central heating plant and water supply and sewerage systems at Inuvik, N.W.T.; the Commission also operates, on behalf of the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources, a small diesel electric and heating plant at Fort McPherson, N.W.T., and a central heating plant and domestic water supply system at Fort Simpson, N.W.T.

The Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources reports to Parliament for the Commission.

Northern Ontario Pipe Line Crown Corporation.—This Corporation was established by the Northern Ontario Pipe Line Crown Corporation Act (SC 1956, c. 10) for the purpose of constructing the northern Ontario section of the all-Canadian natural gas pipeline and of leasing, with an option to purchase, this section to Trans-Canada Pipe Lines Limited. In addition, the Corporation was authorized to make short-term loans to Trans-Canada Pipe Lines Limited for the construction of the western section of the pipeline. The Corporation is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

Pipeline installation on the northern Ontario section, which extends from the Manitoba-Ontario border to the vicinity of Kapuskasing, Ont., was completed on Oct. 22, 1958.

Northern Transportation Company Limited.—This Company was incorporated in 1947 under the title of Northern Transportation Company (1947) Limited, the date being omitted from the name in 1952. Previously a company chartered under an Alberta statute, it has been a wholly owned subsidiary of Eldorado Mining and Refining Limited since that Crown company was established and carries out the business of a common carrier in the Mackenzie River watershed. The Company is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

Park Steamship Company Limited.—After World War II this Company acted as an agent for Crown Assets Disposal Corporation in the sale and delivery to purchasers of Government warbuilt ships. This work is completed but the Company remains available to carry out any appropriate duties. It has no staff of its own, any necessary work being done by the staff of the Canadian Maritime Commission (see p. 108). The Company reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Polymer Corporation Limited.—This Corporation was established in 1942 by Letters Patent under the Companies Act and is subject to the Government Companies Operation Act (RSC 1952, c. 133) and the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1952, c. 116). It was set up to construct and operate a synthetic rubber plant which now produces a variety of synthetic rubber products and some chemicals. The plant is located at Sarnia, Ont. The Corporation is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Defence Production.

St. Lawrence Seaway Authority.—The St. Lawrence Seaway Authority was established by Act of Parliament in 1951 (RSC 1952, c. 242) and came into force by proclamation on July 1, 1954. The Authority was incorporated for the purposes of constructing, maintaining and operating all such works as may be necessary to provide and maintain, either wholly in Canada or in conjunction with works undertaken by an appropriate authority in the United States, a deep waterway between the Port of Montreal and Lake Erie. The Authority is composed of a President, a Vice President and a Member and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.